Admin@ | May 30, 2017 | 0 | Sports

Wales and England will officially hold the 8th edition of the ICC cricket champion trophy of 2017 between 1st and 18th June 2017. Unlike the ICC cricket world cup, the ICC championship trophy 2017 involves only eight teams from different parts of the world who battle it up for the trophy. The tournament will be held three different venues namely: The Oval in the city of London, Edgbaston Cricket Ground in the city of Birmingham, and Sophia Gardens in the city of Cardiff.

Teams involved in this tournament include hosts England, Australia, India, South Africa, New Zealand, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, and Pakistan. All participants save for England which was given an automatic qualification slot due to hosting the tourney; consist of the top seven top ranking teams in the rankings by ICC as of 30th September 2015. The tournament adopts a round-robin and knockout format. The fixtures were announced in 1st June 2016 where the eight teams were divided into two groups each consisting of four teams. Group A consists of Australia, Bangladesh, New Zealand, and England and is expected to be a very tough group. Group B, on the other hand, consists of Pakistan, Sri Lanka, South Africa, and India and is also expected to produce allot of fireworks. Only the top two teams from each group will proceed.

Unfortunately, Cricket lovers in Canada are not so happy since their national team did not make a cut into the tournament. Cricket has always been popular in Canada holds a dear place in the heart and minds of all Canadians. Cricket was so popular in Canada, that Sir John A. Macdonald the very first prime minister of Canada declared it the national sport. Today cricket is the fastest growing game in Canada and a popular minority sport. Hopefully, the national team can make good use of this momentum and qualify for future editions.

Well, it is not all gloom for Canadians all over the country because they can afford to smile knowing that they will get a piece of the complete action live action courtesy of YuppTV. YuppTV is a leading international over the top (OTT) content provider with headquarters in Atlanta in the USA. Viewers from all over Canada will be able to watch live and exclusively stream all the matches from the comfort of their home. In other words, it will be ICC cricket Champion trophy of 2017 live in Canada with YuppTV.

Related Posts